You’ve come to the right place for industry news, tips, events and all things automotive. Check out our latest blog post.
For immediate assistance, call 978.465.5973 to speak with a member of our team – Monday through Friday from 8am to 5pm or
contact us online.
Several new, important laws and regulations will take effect this year including an important new regulation for drivers. Keep reading to learn what changes to look for this year in Massachusetts.
Hands-Free Driving Law
Beginning on February 23, 2020 it is unlawful to operate an electronic device while driving unless it is operating in hands-free mode. First offenses will cost $100, second offenses $250 and third and subsequent offenses $500, as well as auto insurance surcharges. Motorists are allowed a warning on their first offense until March 31, thanks to another grace period written into the legislation.
This law comes at a time when distracted driving accounts for up to 25% of all motor vehicle accidents. While an offense may require live visual confirmation, camera and detection technology continues to advance. It is best and definitely safer to take the 100% hands-free pledge.
Employment, Wages and Income Tax
Flavored Tobacco and Vaping
Last year, Governor Charlie Baker approved a law that makes Massachusetts the first state in the country to ban flavored tobacco and vaping products. Flavored nicotine vaping products will be limited to smoking bars, where they must be smoked on-site.
There will also be a 75% excise tax on cigarettes and shops will be banned from selling flavored tobacco products, including menthol cigarettes. The law takes effect on June 1, 2020.
The pros at Shepard’s Automotive Center value customer relationships and we seek to be your one-stop-shop for mechanical and collision repair. We invite you to contact us online or call 978-465-5973, Monday through Friday between 8am and 5pm. Regardless of your repair, we will be happy to work with you to map out a plan that fits your budget and solves your problems.